The Historic Red Dog Pub located downtown at 189 Hunter Street West is one of several historic buildings scattered around the downtown Peterborough core. Originally opened in 1883 as Clancy’s Hotel, the now Red Dog has been called Peterborough’s home for live music. One of the larger music venues in Peterborough, the open space inside provides a feeling of intimacy with a capacity of 250 people. While appearing to be a sleepy pub during the day, when the sun sets on the town of Peterborough, the Red Dog becomes a helm of musical activity providing a space for both local and out of town bands. Top billed acts such as The Arkells, The Sheepdogs and Shaky Graves have all shared the iconic stage with local artists and favourites Express and Company, Dub Trinity, and Cross Dog.

The pub hosts a couple of weekly events such as Red Hot Poker, a free points league based poker tournament that begins at 7pm on Mondays and Wednesdays. Every Wednesday, unless specified otherwise, sees the Vortexans cover a variety of classic rock and blue songs with two sets, the first of which begins at 10pm. Sunday Funday begins at 12pm when the bar opens hosting a $4.50 Caesar special which runs all day. At 10pm, Gregory Dowey stands up behind the microphone taking requests from patrons and adding a unique spin on classic songs you can’t help but sing along to.

For booking or general inquires, stop by the bar between the hours of 12pm-2am or call (705) 750-1710. Stay up to date with upcoming events by joining the Red Dog Facebook group – follow us on Twitter and Instagram as well.

Upcoming Events:

Friday October 30: Express and Company with the Lohrwoods and Kayla Howran

Friday October 31: Elliott Brood

Sunday November 1: Seagrave

Friday November 6: Bright Light Social Hour

Saturday November 7: Dub Trinity a tribute to the Clash

Wednesday November 11: Finger Eleven

Friday November 13: The Strumbellas

Saturday November 11- Verns Comb

Tuesday November 17: One Bad Son

Friday November 20: Psych Ward

Saturday November 21: Tripsonix

November 28: Union City with musical guests Television Road

Friday December 4: Uptown Burlesque with musical guests The Lumbermen

Wednesday November 9: White Cowbell Oklahoma

Thursday December 10: Single Mothers

Friday December 1: Lowest of the Low

Sunday December 27: Electric 6 with Tupperware Remix Party